I am the Queen of Procrastination!

I am supposed to be writing an essay right now.  It is my last essay for my British Literature course- my last assignment for the semester, actually.  I have had three weeks to write it and it is due in a day and a half.    Why did I put it off for so long?  Because there are so many other pressing matters that needed my attention, of course! Like housework.  Who would have sorted and matched the toppling mountain  of socks if not me?  And who would have organized David’s toy box if I hadn’t?  And though the  socks and toys were promptly thrown throughout the house, making it seem like I had done nothing at all with my time, I still think it was a valid use of yesterday’s afternoon.  I do have to admit that it gives you some perspective on your life when you find yourself procrastinating homework by doing housework instead.  A boring, sad perspective.

There were other things that diverted my attention these last few weeks.  Dexter ate up at least four full afternoons and evenings that could have been spent analyzing literary devices.  But have you seen Dexter?  Once you watch one episode it is absolutely impossible to stop until you have finished the entire season.   And once you have seen all the episodes available on DVD, there are the hours spent scouring You Tube in search of bootleg copies of season 4.  But seriously, have you seen the show?  It is cinematic crack.

There was the day I spent putting together David’s picnic table, though I am sure some man would have come along and done it for me.   But where is the satisfaction in that?  I used tools- electric ones.  Well, just a screwdriver, but still.  And after hours of sweat and multi-syllabic curse words,  I had constructed a table that will provide endless entertainment for David.  I did such a fantastic job, I even had parts left over!

There was this:

And this:

And my current form of procrastination- starting a blog!  Now I guess I could have put off starting this up until after my paper was done, but the idea just popped into my head and if I didn’t act fast it would have popped back out.  Then I would be back to distracting myself with things like this:

Okay, I really need to get to work!

5 thoughts on “I am the Queen of Procrastination!

  1. You see, if we lived near you, every time I had a pressing paper due I would have a fellow procrastinator to count on and would suggest we go visit Jamie and all school work on both sides of the fence would grind to a halt. Maybe we should start a support group. On second thought, that would probably end in beer or wine talking about what we should be doing, STOP THE MADNESS!

Leave a Reply

