Run Jamie, Run- Week 6

I’m happy to report that even though I fell behind on my blogging, the same fate didn’t befall my jogging regime. I’ve been keeping at it, running three times a week and increasing my interval time. I’m up to running 10 minutes at a time, a feat I would have sworn was impossible a month and a half ago. I am continually impressed with my body’s ability to adapt to new challenges. Running has given me a new appreciation for this body I inhabit. Despite its many flaws and my many abuses of it, it is stronger than I ever imagined and willing to change to suit my whims. It’s really quit remarkable.

The thing I’ve discovered that I love most about running is that moment when my thoughts finally cease and the only sounds I hear are the pounding of my feet on the pavement and the solid rhythm of my breath in my ears. I’ve never found anything that was able to quiet my brain. There is always a voice, endlessly questioning, always supplying a constant commentary on everything around me. Maybe it’s the writer in me, but my mind is persistently narrating the the world as I see it, and it is so wonderful to have finally found a way to escape the din in my mind. I’m reading a memoir by Haruki Murakami titled “What I Talk About When I Talk About Running”. He calls the quiet place the void and he says ” I run to acquire the void” and I feel exactly the same way. I feel like I’m running in pursuit of the void, and when it finally comes, it’s bliss. It is like my mind and my body are at war, with my body pushing forward while my mind does everything to get it to give up and quit. The void is my body’s triumph over my mind and it’s a magical moment.

That’s what keeps me going. As I’ve said before, I’m a person of whims. I quickly adopt new pass-times out of impulse and just as quickly abandon them when the novelty has worn off. When I decided to start running I was doing it because I wanted to be able to have a beer(or two) with dinner without feeling guilty and because I wanted to prove to myself that I could. What I found is immensely more rewarding than anything I expected and what keeps me going back out there even though it’s hard.

2 thoughts on “Run Jamie, Run- Week 6

  1. Ahh, the void. It’s amazing what you can hear and observe when you’re there. Mystics say that’s where the spirit is. Glad to hear you’re running, it’s a good way to lift the spirits and stay in good health.

Leave a Reply

